The Writer’s Tarot

photo credit: me not feeling super artistic today photo wise, but this shot does the job well enough *shrugs*
photo credit: me
not feeling super artistic today photo wise, but this shot does the job well enough *shrugs*

I got my first tarot deck when I was about 13. It was an awesome deck, The Shapeshifter Tarot, that I used for years giving myself readings. It was a celebration of Celtic Mythology, mixed with shamanism and animals all my favorite things. As I got older, I stopped giving myself readings as much and used it more for meditation purposes. It was lost in a move and I never got around to replacing it.

Fast forward a couple of years and through one of my trips down the rabbit hole that is amazon.com, I found the osho zen tarot and the book “Tarot for Writers” and thought, “what the hell, why not.” I bought them both.

Tarot for writers is a very useful book. It really goes into using the tarot to develop characters and add depth to plot and even setting. It offers plenty of spreads, and if you are new to tarot, interpretations of each card. I use the spreads from the book, but tarot is also useful for just being a random idea generator. Sometimes I will be looking at a scene or character and think it needs a little something and shuffle the deck and pull out random cards to interpret for the scene/character.

This book has an interesting characteristic of going invisible to me for long periods of time. It will languish on a shelf with my tarot and I will look over it without seeing it for months at a time. Then, right when I need inspiration, I will find myself drawn to it. This is one of those times. For the first time this year, my attention was drawn to this book. Never let it be said I don’t follow my intuition. I had been planning to do micro fics based on writing prompts to see what my next big story will be, and not I will use the tarot to add depth to these flash fics.

One last word on tarot decks: I have used three: The Shapeshifter Tarot, The New Orleans Voodoo Tarot, and the Osho Zen Tarot. I loved them all for different purposes. My advice is that, when choosing a deck, ignore the reviews. Choose a deck with pictures that evoke a response in you. Those are the ones that tell a story, and help you tell a story as well.

4 thoughts on “The Writer’s Tarot

  1. Fascinating! I have the Inner Child deck which I like very much. I have The Mythic Tarot workbook, and a cool book entitled Tarot & the Hero’s Journey or something like that. I have seen this book cover- I think it is on my wishlist. Although, I wouldn’t be surprised if I have already bought it and it is sitting on one of my bookshelves right now. The upstairs left bookcase, 2nd shelf from the top. I’ll post a pic tonight…

    Like

  2. Tarot for Writers sounds like such a good resource for plotting! Alas, I’ve never bought a Tarot deck. One of these days… I’d love to be able to use Tarot for Writers for future novels. Maybe I’ll treat myself after I finish my first novel. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

