The Writer’s Tarot Challenge for Nanowrimo

photo credit: me
photo credit: me

You guys already know about my enduring love of tarot for creative inspiration. I have been doing a tarot challenge on instagram and it has been a really amazing experience for me. I wanted to keep the momentum going in November, but in a way that let me stay in my artistic flow, so I designed the writer’s tarot challenge. My goal is to keep it fluid enough that it can adapt to whatever you are writing already and just show you new directions to spin off into. So, each week, there is a variety of prompts. There are prompts to inspire your work, there are photo challenges to give you a break and let you do your own thing writing wise, and there are nurture your creative self days which let you just relax and get away from the pressure of writing.

photo credit: me
photo credit: me

Most of the inspiration draws are themed around a particular tarot card. So, day 9, for instance, is the moon. You would draw 1-3 cards for inspiration of things that are rising to the surface. Day 14, on the other hand, is a photo challenge where you would just take a photo of the three of cups and a glass of whatever beverage you prefer. This lets you do your own thing writing wise on that day while still maintaining your  connection to the challenge.

photo credit: me
photo credit: me

I am infamous for doing days out of order, so feel free to switch up the days to fit your creative life. For example, if you are feeling really frustrated and need a spa day, do that challenge and then do one of the inspiration challenges another day. If you are on instagram, then you can post and connect under #writerstarotchallenge so that we can share. I am also going to put up a weekly post once Nanowrimo gets started where we can chat and share with each other. The goal is to have fun and be creative, so please feel free to join in 🙂

photo credit: me
photo credit: me

Recommended resources:

I really like the book Tarot for Writers, I highly recommend it.

If you are new to tarot and don’t have a deck, I recommend any of the Barbara Moore ones: 1)Tarot of the Hidden Realms 2) Steampunk Tarot 3) Shadowscapes Tarot for example, because they are inexpensive and have awesome guidebooks

3)I also recommend the Sacred Rebels Oracle or the Mother Mary Oracle for those “dark nights of the soul” writing days

4)All of the spreads listed in the challenge will be listed on the blog. One, the Vonnugut spread, has already been talked about here

Another one is the masquerade spread, which I will post now

photo credit: me
photo credit: me

This is a spread for unmasking creative inspiration, based on a masquerade ball. If you read my writing, you know masquerades are my favorite thing lol.

card one: the invitation, the energy you need to invigorate you

card two: the masked admirerer, the inspiration that has been trying to get your attention, but you’ve been ignoring

card three: the fleeing shadow, the inspiration that is available, but that you may have to chase down.

Well, that’s all for now. I will post a little more as we get closer. Let me know if you have any questions, comments, criticisms, suggestions, etc. Happy writing 🙂

Publishyourartspread

Using tarot to perfect your second draft
Using tarot to perfect your second draft
9 thoughts on “The Writer’s Tarot Challenge for Nanowrimo

  1. Love your enthusiasm and ideas!
    I have an extra copy of Tarot and the Hero’s Journey- would you like it?
    I’m going to use it for my musical book next month…

    Like

    1. Added you as a buddy ❤
      I am a day behind on my tarot challenges. But the same card came up on day 1 and 2, so I thought that was cool. My daughter has been looking at my deck and she asked me if she could play clock solitaire with them, and if they "would work." She has some fairy tale builder cards and a neat board (links below). I think we will explore them together. Have you seen the fold out chart at the end of the Hero's Journey book?

      http://www.amazon.com/eeBoo-Tell-Story-Fairy-Tale/dp/B001FYH1UC/ref=pd_bxgy_21_img_2?ie=UTF8&refRID=1KRHK343BCK8913K0K6D

      http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B001QKYLDU?psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=oh_aui_search_detailpage

      Like

Leave a Reply

