Dreaming your agency

During the month of August, I’m participating in the Writer’s Tarot Challenge.

Day 8: 5 of Swords – take your writing somewhere you’ve never been and draw inspiration from what you see.

About a year ago I was gifted with a children’s book about a boy whose dad encourages him to plan out the adventures he’ll have in his dreams. I’ve begun encouraging my daughters to do the same–to plan the excitement they’ll have as they wield the power of their dreamwork.

With this in mind, I think I shall begin the second half of my novel with a dream scene, in which my protagonist is startled to find herself with the power to do what she normally isn’t allowed to do. This dream will gird the rest of her story.

Leave a Reply

